Join Our Community

We currently do not have an openings for new people to join the community on the land here, but the following information gives a sense of what we are looking for when spaces do open up.

Information About Joining the Community at Squawking Hawk Acres:

We are a group of four people -three adults and a 2-year-old – exploring living together in community. We are looking for another person to join us! We live on three acres near Emigrant Lake, about a ten minute drive (25 minute bike ride) from downtown Ashland. One of us owns the land and manages rental agreements with the others. The vision for the property is to be a community permaculture and homesteading demonstration site. It is also a gathering space and we regularly host a variety of creative and educational events. We love connecting over good food, shared projects, laughter, music and fun!

The space that is available beginning in January is a bedroom in the main part of the house with a shared bathroom. Rent is $400/month, plus utilities and a $400 security deposit. Utilities range from approximately $30-$90/person/month and cover garbage, electric, internet, firewood and poultry feed. The cost of utilities is shared among the whole household. Because of this, as well as our personal beliefs/values, we are looking for someone with similar consumption habits, willing to be conscious of conserving resources and able to reduce, reuse, recycle, and compost!

The house is a three bedroom, with an attached studio apartment. Two single women live in the other two bedrooms in the main house, and a man and the baby live in the apartment, which has it’s own entrance, kitchen, bath and laundry, but we all share communal indoor and outdoor spaces. The house has two large decks, a covered outdoor kitchen area with a cob oven, and a workshop/barn space. We have a large yard with space and grow lots of veggies, herbs, and other plants. We all help with growing and preserving a lot of food. This past year we put in over twenty young fruit trees. We have two outdoor farm cats, and a couple hives of honeybees. We are taking a break over the winter, but will be getting chickens again in the spring, and possibly ducks. We are considering goats, but cannot accept other pets at the moment.

We are hoping to find someone to join our home who is interested in living in community. Willingness to communicate clearly and compassionately is absolutely necessary! We always have lots of projects going on and would love someone who is interested in participating and brings related experience in some combination of gardening, food preservation, fermentation, permaculture, building, animal husbandry, herbalism, home brewing, etc… (tell us about your passions!). We are all pretty big foodies with a strong focus on local and organic! We all have different dietary preferences, but knowing where our food comes from and purchasing it with as little packaging as possible is important to all of us.

We have a monthly-ish house meeting, and try to share meals and fun times much more often than that. We share chores, have occasional work parties, and have a quarterly house deep cleaning day!

If you have read this far and are still interested, that’s awesome! You can take a look around the rest of the website to get more of an idea what we’re up to. Then please send us an email to tell us about yourself and why you want to join us. We look forward to hearing from you!